DBT Star Status College

Star Status College Scheme has been initiated by DBT in 2008 to support colleges and universities offering undergraduate education to improve science teaching across the country. This scheme aimed for improving critical thinking and 'hands on' experimental work at undergraduate (college) level in sciences. It is expected to encourage more students to take up higher education in science. Star Status College Scheme has been divided into two categories viz. first, strengthening of support to science departments for undergraduate education and second, grant of Star College Status. Criteria for selection as a “Star Status College” is very stringent and budget provision is double for colleges accorded Star College Status.

Department of Biotechnology (DBT) has recommended for support under the strengthening component of the Star Status College Scheme to seven departments (Biomedical Science, Botany, Chemistry, Electronics, Physics, Zoology and Computer Science) of the College in 2017. Under the strengthening component of the Star Status College Scheme, DBT has provided a one-time grant of Rs. 5.00 lakhs and Rs. 2.00 lakhs recurring grant for a period of 3 years to each department. This year the 8 th Meeting of the Task Force to review ongoing colleges supported under DBT-“Star Status College Scheme” was held from August 25-26, 2020.

The Task Force after reviewing the work done by the college recommended awarding the Star Status to the participating departments in the college with one-time non- recurring grant of Rs. 15.00 lakhs (per department) and recurring grant of Rs. 5.00 lakhs per year per department along with contingency of Rs 1.00 lakhs per year and travel grant of Rs 2.00 lakhs per year for a period of three years. The college has been thus, upgraded to Star Status and the financial support by DBT is extended for another 3 years i.e. from May 21, 2020 to May 21, 2023.

Star Status College Scheme Coordinator Dr. Ravi Toteja
Co-Cordinator Dr Archna Pandey
Departmental Coordinators
Biomedical Science Dr Archna Pandey
Botany Dr Rashmi Sharma
Chemistry Dr Sunita Hooda
Computer Science Dr Harita Ahuja
Electronics Dr Ravneet Kaur
Physics Dr Arijit Chowdhuri
Zoology Dr Seema Makhija